A new life and a new blog

Hello! Welcome to my brand-spanking-new blog.

I am a British, late-thirty-something mama of a one-year-old toddler. Our little family – husband, toddler and slightly crazy dog – has been living on the North Coast in South Africa for the last year.

The last twelve months have been wholly-wonderful-and-utterly-stressful-all-at-the-same-time. The many challenges of life as a new mum have unfolded alongside the ups and downs of new beginnings. A new culture, new people, a new home, a new job… A new “normal”. Which has, at times felt very abnormal!

A few years ago, I wrote a blog called A Story of Failure (have a little look here if you fancy). That blog was a form of therapy for me and helped me to outwardly process some internal angst. I’ve wanted to start writing again, and thought about reviving it. But I am a different “me” these days.

So, after months of procrastinating, here is a little something new. 

I simply want it to be a space to think and write. A space to connect. With mums, expats, friends, bloggers, others. To chat about the mum-venture of life with a crazy-busy toddler. About trying to do this in a new country. Far from my old support networks and all that was familiar to me. All that used to seem “normal”. About trying to do this new-family-in-a-new-place thing in Africa.    

One thought on “A new life and a new blog

Leave a Reply

